Sign In Forgot Password

Get Involved - TBA Committees 2022-23

Constituent Organizations

Men’s Club—all adult male Temple B’nai Abraham members are invited to join and become active members of Men’s Club. We are a diverse organization that promotes camaraderie, friendship, chivalry, and service to the community as well as a connection to B’nai Abraham and the Jewish community.
Co-Presidents: Andrew Halper and Peter Rosenbaum

Parent-Teacher Association (PTA)—committed to enhancing the Jewish Learning Program experience for the children at our synagogue. It is our goal to provide a positive and enriching Jewish traditional and cultural atmosphere for all children attending school and services at the Temple.
President: Alyssa Kranz

Sisterhood—The Women’s Connection—offers friendship, fun, learning, growth, and involvement to members of B’nai Abraham while also serving the Temple and Jewish community at large. The Sisterhood Judaica Shop, located outside of the Saul Reinfeld Hall, is a convenient place to purchase gifts from a high-quality selection of items for every life cycle event and Jewish holidays.
Co-Presidents: Marilyn Eber and Beth Skolnick

Auxiliary Association

Early School Parents’ Council—the link among the parents of The Early School, school staff, temple groups, and staff. Our goal is to enhance the early childhood educational experience for our children.
Co-Presidents: Caryn Delinko and Deborah Pilchik


Audit—oversees the auditors and presents the audit report to the Board for approval.  Requires financial background.
Chair: Peter Rosenbaum

Board of Education—responsible for the Early School, Primary and Religious School Education.  It is also responsible for adult education programs.  It recommends policy to the Board of Trustees and oversees the functioning and practices of these programs, as well as the Junior Youth Group.
Co-Chairs: Michelle Barishaw and Abby Silverman

Budget—works with the Treasurer, Executive Director and Controller to set the budget for the Temple year.
Chair: Scott Moskowitz

Buildings and Grounds—charged with the ongoing oversight of all maintenance and improvement of Temple property except for the Memorial Park.  This includes responsibility for developing operating and capital budget recommendations for our grounds and physical plant. It is also responsible for recommending policy regarding all security issues at the temple.
C0-chairs: Ellen Klein and David Sodowick

Development—works to organize and oversee the raising of all voluntary revenues for the Temple and provides leadership to the committees associated with these areas.  Help with congregational outreach for these programs. The committee manages the Annual Giving Program—Partners in Leadership, Tribute Funds and Plaques.
Co-Chairs: Merle Kalishman and Melanie Wurtele

Investment—is responsible for recommending to the Board action to be taken concerning the TBA Ross Endowment Fund, other Temple funds, and our portfolio manager’s recommendations. In addition, it identifies broad investment strategy and provides guidelines for policy implementation. Requires financial background.
C0-Chair: Max Silbermann and David Solomon

Membership—welcomes new members, focuses on membership retention, encourages membership and member participation, and is responsible for new member events. The committee also works to effectively communicate about temple activities.
Chair: Justin Hirschtritt 

Memorial Park—works with the Park director and the Board of Trustees in setting policy, prices, and practice.  Our Memorial Park is located on Route 22 in Union.
Co-Chairs: Richard Dinar and Mark Meller

Nominating—committee chosen specifically by Constitutional provisions which proposes the slate of Trustees and Officers for election.  Volunteers cannot self-appoint to this committee.
Co-Chairs: Scott Wolfson and Marjorie Zucker

Prime Time—geared to those 55 and older but open to all who are interested.  Sponsors varied programs and trips throughout the year.
Chair: Ethel Singer

Ritual—works with the clergy in setting policy for services and ritual practice.  The Ritual Committee is also responsible for ushering.  The ushers help to keep order at weekly Temple services, on holidays, and at special events, and assists visitors.
Co-Chairs: Edward Meinhardt and Ginny Roth

Security—responsible for recommending policy that seeks to provide a safe, secure, and welcoming environment for our building, congregational family, and visitors.  The committee will work closely with the President, Executive Director, Facilities Manager, Building & Grounds Committee, and school leadership.  The members of the Security Committee shall consist of the Chairperson, the Temple Officers, and the Chairperson(s) of the Buildings and Grounds Committee. The implementation of security policies and procedures is the responsibility of the professional staff as led by the Executive Director.
Chair: Scott Loventhal

Social Action—provides TBA congregants the opportunity to take part in Tikkun Olam (healing the world) and perform hands-on mitzvot and activities through volunteer opportunities for adults, youngsters, families, and individuals, often in partnership with other committees, constituency groups, or the Jewish Learning Program.
Co-Chairs:  Janet Penn and Ruth Ross

Strategic Planning—works with the President, Senior Rabbi, and Executive Director to evaluate all aspects of the Temple with the goal of creating a proposed Strategic Plan for the operations and functions of the Temple over the next five years, and for presenting the proposed Strategic Plan to the Board of Trustees for adoption.
Chair: Kenneth Starr

Ways and Means—is responsible for planning and implementing fundraising and social events for the Temple.
Co-Chairs: Erica Facktor and Ilana Lebersfeld

Thu, February 9 2023 18 Shevat 5783